Church Renovation
The church, built in 1967, was originally intended to be the parish hall. It featured a massive central soffit dividing the interior space into two sections.
Above you can see the new organ chamber room on the left, and the complementary sacristy room on the right.
The soffit is being removed, making the space feel a lot bigger!
Above is a similar view of the church with construction nearing completion. The organ is going in to the left. 
Here is another view at night while parishioners were cleaning. We were able to open the church for worship on the weekend of May 23, even though there were a number of loose ends to tie up.
A final picture. We will install some translucent white onyx windows in the back sanctuary wall.
By now the organ and console have been installed. We still need to place some grill cloth over the louver opening.
In the summer of 2020, St. Edwin received a grant from the Catholic Foundation to install a sanctuary floor. We will use Indiana limestone donated by Jim Lardner of New Mexico Travertine in Belen. We are blessed!
Our church renovation was sparked by the offer of a Wicks Organ, Op. 1210, circa 1934, featuring 438 pipes plus Degan chimes. It was restored by a retired electrical engineer, Richard Reiff. His charming wife, Dianne, told him that if he died and the organ was still in their shop, she would be mad. The instrument requires its own chamber to moderate the sound, for which we stepped up our efforts during the pandemic suspension of church services to renovate. Below is some of the work:
Church Renovation
Our church renovation was sparked by the offer of a Wicks Organ, Op. 1210, circa 1934, featuring 438 pipes plus Degan chimes. It was restored by a retired electrical engineer, Richard Reiff. His charming wife, Dianne, told him that if he died and the organ was still in their shop, she would be mad. The instrument requires its own chamber to moderate the sound, for which we stepped up our efforts during the pandemic suspension of church services to renovate. Below is some of the work:
The church, built in 1967, was originally intended to be the parish hall. It featured a large central soffit dividing the interior space into two sections.
Above you can see the new organ chamber room on the left, and the complementary sacristy room on the right.
The massive soffit stretching from one side of the church interior to the other is being removed, making the space feel a lot bigger!
Above is a similar view of the church with construction nearing completion. We still need to install the sanctuary floor. The organ is going in to the left.
Here is another view at night while parishioners were cleaning. We were able to open the church for worship on the weekend of May 23, even though there were a number of loose ends to tie up.
A final picture. We will install some translucent white onyx windows for the back sanctuary wall.
By now the organ and console have been installed. We still need to place some grill cloth over the louver opening. And we hope to install our sanctuary floor soon.
In the summer of 2020, St. Edwin received a grant from the Catholic Foundation to install a sanctuary floor. We will use Indiana limestone donated by Jim Lardner of New Mexico Travertine in Belen. We are blessed!